Review: B

B
B by Sarah Kay

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have watched Sarah Kay’s spoken word poetry live when she and Phil Kaye performed in the Philippines. She is one of the inspiring poets I met. Her poems are exquisite yet simple, so it’s relatable while deeply felt.

“B” was performed at the TED 2011 Conference. In this platform of written texts, the words are to be felt just the same. The words are emphasized through breaking off the lines and the subtle illustrations of Sophia Janowitz. What I like about the poem is that it is not trying to please its readers, it simply does. The emotions are visible as the poem is real.

I got an earc from Hachette Books through NetGalley for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Review: The Worrier’s Guide to Life

The Worrier's Guide to Life
The Worrier’s Guide to Life by Gemma Correll

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Who is this artist? Is she stalking me? How did she made a comic book about me without me knowing it? She knows I’m typing now, right??

The comic book is titled as “worrier’s guide” but it shows the other way around. It presents the life and anxieties of the worriers. It is really funny because most of the cases are true. I can relate from her illustrations. My favorites are the Introvert’s Heart & the Wheel of Insomnia.

description
See the photo above. This is literally me. My housemate is my sister or sometimes my aunt. I cannot believe that I’m not the only one who thinks & acts like this.

I like the artist’s humor and her illustrations are cute. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I like books like this.
Gemma, you’ve gained a fan. 🙂

Thanks Andrews McMeel Publishing & NetGalley for the ebook.

View my reviews in Goodreads