Review: Japanese Woodblock Print Workshop: A Modern Guide to the Ancient Art of Mokuhanga

Japanese Woodblock Print Workshop: A Modern Guide to the Ancient Art of Mokuhanga
Japanese Woodblock Print Workshop: A Modern Guide to the Ancient Art of Mokuhanga by April Vollmer

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have always been interested in Japanese Woodblock print because of the Ukiyo-e art. It is very distinct and beautiful. I am amazed by Hokusai’s works. And I only knew about Utamaro because of the postcards I got.

Like the delicate art of mokuhanga, the bit by bit information I got from this book was interesting. This book made it easier for me to understand the mokuhanga and learn beyond the topic. It covered everything: the origin, history, print types, materials, new and old artists, and procedures. It also includes photos, links, and sources which is very helpful for the readers.

I am far from a woodblock artist but maybe I could try it in the future. The art requires dedication. For now I am content with carving rubber stamps lol.

I got this from NetGalley for an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

