Review: Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice

Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice
Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice by Stacy King
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

In vain I have struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice! Reading it over and over is not enough. I read some fan fiction books about it, and repeatedly watch the film adaptation and the tv series. So, I’m so stoked to see a manga adaptation. Being a manga enthusiast, I cannot pass the chance of reading it. I got this eARC from Udon Entertainment through NetGalley.

The illustration is what I call cartoonized manga. Manga is made by the Japanese and their art has distinct characteristics; it can be distinguished from cartoons, manhwas, marvel, and other art styles. Not that it’s bad but the art style used in this book is not fully what a manga looks like. I would say that the digitalization strayed it from the traditional manga style. The whole illustration, however, is very pleasing.

The artist’s style is melodramatic and extravagant. It captures the different personalities and emotions of the characters. The artist relies on chibi (dwarf-like characters) which sometimes loses its entertaining purpose. But, the mini chibi comic strips are amusing. The intricacy of details is what I like the most–from the tresses of their hairs to the creases of their clothes.

The lines get a little modern and some scenes deviate from the original. But it is tolerable because it creates its uniqueness. There will be no versions alike. This could be a good start for those who are intimidated to read classics. For Janeites, you only have to read this to determine if the shades of Pemberley to be thus polluted by it or not. But I chose the latter.

P.S. I agree with Po Tse, God bless Jane Austen for creating the first Tsundere character! lol

View all my reviews on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

