Review: Courage: Daring Poems for Gutsy Girls

Courage: Daring Poems for Gutsy Girls
Courage: Daring Poems for Gutsy Girls by Karen Finneyfrock

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

First, let me tell you how wonderful this book looks like. It has colorful matte book cover which I endlessly slide my hands ever so often. The paper is smooth, thick, and pretty. Second, it says that one tree is planted in exchange of this book. (I think every book from Write Bloody Publishing is like this and I should stop this obsession before it goes out of hand). Lastly, the main part, I love the whole anthology and authors’ idea of gathering thoughts and experiences which constitutes courage as a charm to be tucked in every girl’s pockets. I wish I read something like this when I was a teenager.

The book is divided into: Made of Lightning (On Body and Identity); The Hurricane Sermons (On Endurance and Truth); For Teeth (On Power and Protection); How To Eat Sugarcane (On Love and Loss, From The Echo Chamber (On Being and Becoming); Bloodline (On Family and Faith); Mirror Anthems (On Esteem and Exposure); and The Wild Language of Stars (On Healing and Living).

I am partial with the poems of Andrea Gibson and Sarah Kay because I’m a fan of them. Besides their poems, here are some of my personal favorites in the collection:

My Girls by Hollis Wong-Wear
The First Time I Hit A Boy by Mindy Nettifee
The Thing I Said That During Gym by Shaney Jean Maney
December by Erica Fabri
In Case You Ever Need It, It Is Here by Daphne Gottlieb
Remembering the Night We Met by Cristin o’keefe aptowicz
Dear Mom by Fatimah Asghar
Etymology of the Beauty Shop by Jamila Woods
Firefly by Sarah Brickman
Bloom by Tara Hardy
Girl with Red Bicycle by Gypsee Yo (Jonida Beqo)

Add me on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

