Plane to London (LDN pt1)

“Mind the gap between the train and the platform”
“16 to Cricklewood Bus Garage”
“This line terminates at Stratford”

These lines were ringing in my head from London, England until some weeks I arrived in Manila. It was my first time outside Asiaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa~!! I’m writing everything I could remember because I want to retain the memories I made there (so this post has tmi). It was during December 29-January 5, 2015. My family went there to celebrate my sister’s 18th birthday and my parents’ 25th anniversary.

The flight was really long. Our departure time was 7:55 am and we arived at the Heathrow Terminal 4 on 2pm (9pm in Ph time).
IMG_4092

I think my snooze button gets on whenever I’m in a plane. I slept too much but whenever I woke up I said, “still here?” Then I calculated the remaining hours before we land. I’m that excited! I was seated beside my sister, Patrice.
Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
my sister watched Maleficent & I watched Magic in the Moonlight

We entertained ourselves with ipad mini of the Philippines Airlines. They provided it for everyone in the plane. It’s their new way of entertainment now, but they still have the television and radio. Patrice and I watched several movies and tv shows available. I played Kingdom Rush and got addicted to it. Plane food is alright. Oh, Azkals’ James Younghusband was on the plane with us.
Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset
aerial view of London from the plane

When we arrived the airport, we were interviewed collectively by an Indian-looking guy. I was asked, “What do you want to see here?” I was like in a recitation in class. Out of all the places I listed down, I can’t remember a single one! Then Trafalgar Square came to mind so I said it together with King’s Cross Station. He said, “A Harry Potter fan?” I said, “Yes, I’m a Harry Potter fan.” I was smiling ear to ear. The interviewer made a face like he was saying “nothing new” haha. After he interviewed us, he complimented my father for having such nice daughters. I think because we are all in College/finished College (In Philippines, it’s quite common to enter Colleges).

IMG_7150

My cousin Kaye welcomed us at the arrival area of the Heathrow. We got so many luggages. Good thing that the airport is connected to the tube. Ate Kaye bought us Oyster cards. In the station, the weather of London can be immediately felt. The wind was greeting us. I looked for my black coat in my bag, and it was nowhere to be seen! FUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU- stupidity of me! I thought I put it in my backpack but no. I left it in the house. I might have thought of holding it in the airplane so when I arrive, I can drape it. I’m such a careless creature. My dad gave me his big jacket and I felt a little guilty for taking it. He, on the other hand, seems to be okay with it because he likes the cold weather.
IMG_7154
Heathrow Terminal 4
IMG_7151 I look awful from the long airplane ride but it’s the first photo of us in London that I took
IMG_7155 me in my dad’s jacket
It’s kind of awkward when we got in the train because we have big lug–buggies what they call it. I imagined what if we were at the LRT or MRT in the Philippines? The people could have swore bad words and dagger looks at us for taking those spaces lol. Anyway, some people in London found it normal because they can tell if a foreigner/tourist came from the airport. Getting on the second train, however, was quite a challenge. Luckily, it was not the ungodly hour of rush hour. But some people still looked at us lol. I think in times like this, the normal thing for people there is to hail a cab. We could have taken a cab for convenience, however we found out that the flat rate was Β£80, thankyouverymuch.
IMG_7152
IMG_7153
IMG_7156 Turnham Green. The 2nd train we rode.
After surviving two trains, we rode a bus. Some lines of the train were under construction so yeah, more rides. We arrived somewhere (I didn’t looked at the name of the place =.=) and walked and walked and walked! We passed Mulberry School and other buildings along the Forwych Road. The reason was we still didn’t know where exactly was our flat. It was a loooooong day but here is what our flat looks like:
Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset
This is the living room. Seems comfy, right?
But first,
Processed with VSCOcam with lv01 preset
internet.

β™‘ P

Leave a Reply

