Reading slump + new hobby

I’m on a reading slump lately. I acquired a new hobby.

I have always like the idea of sending snail mail letters, but the last time I sent one was when I was in grade school. Last summer, my friends and I had an agreement to send postcards. So I did. As I was planning to upload it on Instagram, I searched for hashtags on postcards and I encountered #postcrossing. I said, “cool tag”. But then I realized that it will ruin the surprise on how these postcards look and when I will send them, so I held back on uploading them. I browsed for more photos with ‘postcrossing’ in them. I wondered if postcrossing is really a word. Thus, I began to search for it.

Postcrossing is a website for postcard sending and receiving for people around the globe. Wow. I did not know such site exists. The idea is to register your address then wait for random postcrosser to send you postcard while you are sending postcard to other random postcrossers. I was so giddy to try it so I requested for 5 addresses even if I still haven’t bought enough postcards! These people have preferences on what they want. I, on the otherhand, was clueless on what postcards are there.

I have A Series of Unfortunate Events postcard book I bought when I was little because I am such a huge fan! Another part of my childhood is Lizzie McGuire but I don’t know where I put my postcards of it. :O Last year, I bought prints of paintings by some local artists. They were pricey than the usual postcards. I have also acquired Claude Monet’s painting postcard book which was given by my good friend Yndi. I jokingly told her to buy it for me as a birthday present (it was five months before my birthday). It was sale on a cheap price. I also invited her to be my pen pal and she said yes. Actually, she sent the first letter to start our correspondence but she haven’t received any letters from me yet.

incoming #snailmail ๐Ÿ’Œ

A post shared by Phoebe Andamo ๐Ÿ (@phoebeandamo) on

I was excited when they will get my postcards. I clicked more hashtags on Instagram and I found out that postcrossers there are direct-swapping. I told myself, why not? So I commented on the postcards that caught my eye. It is addicting.

Here is a photo of my first postcard swap:

๐Ÿ“ฎ๐Ÿ“ค๐ŸŒ hee I’m a newbie in #postcardswapping and I’m getting pretty much addicted to it. The act of sending and receiving tangible written pieces which are personal and thought of is wonderful. The feeling is much different from receiving an email. It also gives me time to reflect and know people I haven’t met in real life. Plus, the waiting gives thrill and the beautiful postcards are heartwarming. โ˜บ๏ธ

Also, I enjoyed making and designing envelopes.

I made some #envelopes ๐Ÿ’Œ

A post shared by Phoebe Andamo ๐Ÿ (@phoebeandamo) on

I’m planning on having new pen pals. I have one from Hong Kong and one from Indonesia. I collect stationeries when I was little but I was not able to use most of it. I’m glad I could use it now. ^^

Then came my final examinations so I didn’t get the chance to get back on reading ๐Ÿ˜…

โ™ก P

Leave a Reply

