Review: Si Janus Sílang at ang Tiyanak ng Tábon

Si Janus Sílang at ang Tiyanak ng Tábon
Si Janus Sílang at ang Tiyanak ng Tábon by Edgar Calabia Samar
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I was hooked since I first heard the idea of Janus Silang from Sir Egay in Laguna. He said that he was planning a book about a hero set for young readers. His previous published books are mind-boggling metafiction Walong Diwata ng Pagkahulog and Kasunod ng 909. I also read his short story, and his literary criticism book Halos Isang Buhay.

As a fan of Harry Potter, I am interested to read Janus Silang series. ‘What’s the connection?’, you may ask. Harry Potter is set for young readers involving magical world of wizards and witches. Their stories and myths, however, are different from our culture. For instance, the witches in our culture, mangkukulam, are not quite charming and different in foreign cultures.

Now that I think of it, why does my favorite book series a foreign one? I read it and got addicted to it since I was little. The better answer for it is simple: books like Janus Silang are what we are missing. Filipinos, especially the generation nowadays, know about vampires, werewolves, and other mythical creatures originated from other countries. How about the mythical creatures from Philippine folklores and urban tales? We don’t have vampires, we have manananggal. We don’t have werewolves, we have tikbalang. We also have nuno, kapre, tiktik, and tiyanak, among others. So why don’t we read and learn about them? (Plus, vampires are so overrated! haha)

Another thing I like about the book is that Janus is real. Like people in this generation, he is into the bermuda triangle of technology such as mobile phones, computers, and internet. He gets addicted to games, and mutters bad words. I like how brave the author is to put profanity in a novel for young readers. It is a contributory factor that makes the character of Janus believable. Moreover, he is a common teenager, he has flaws.

Reading Janus Silang is like drinking a glass of cold water while the sun is burning hot in the middle of summer. It is easy-flowing and refreshing read. After drinking it, it will make you want more. Yes, series leave you hanging anyway.

I can not share the plot without giving a spoiler so I won’t. It will be the best for you to read it. Read it during daytime. It gave me the creeps.

~~~***~~~

This is too much to take. I thought this is for young readers…? ._.

_φ(・_・ Dear Janus, your life is a lie. Kbye.

View all my reviews

updated:

20140702-234022-85222376.jpg
the author saw my review o(^_^)o

Leave a Reply

