Review: The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Looking for Alaska was John Green’s most popular book back then. It was so hard for me to get a copy so whenever I see his books, I immediately bought them. Then came The Fault In Our Stars, it boomed big time, so it became easy to get his works. I admittedly hate that this book made John Green mainstream that even people who don’t really read, actually reads it and proclaiming it’s their favorite. Now, I might be steaming out a hipster-ish rant but my point is that John Green succeeded. It was a plan of his to make the non-readers read, and it worked! Some people may belittle the whole Young Adult genre, but why would people discourage others to read books designed for them?

The plot is simple. Two teenagers met and eventually fell in love. Their only hurdle is a thing called cancer. It might not sound good if I just sized it up like that but this book is really great. John Green captures the essence of life and love in 313 pages. This book makes readers think and feel. I cannot simply put it in words because this is a star I can’t fathom into a constellation.

The Fault In Our Stars is inspired of Esther Earl, a nerdfighter (people of vlogbrothers’ community). However, Esther and the heroine Hazel are very different characters. John Green said that his anger after her death pushed him to write the book. Also, he said that Esther helped him to imagine teenagers as more empathetic than he’d given them credit for.

“Maybe ‘okay’ will be our ‘always’ ”

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

