Muggle Butterbeer

Butterbeer is a beverage of wizards that can be bought in Hogsmeade’s Three Broomsticks. It is served cold in bottles and hot in “foaming tankards”.

20131111-191415.jpg
Harry Potter and the Half-blood Prince movie

Like any other Harry Potter fan, I have needed to try it even once in my life. But since my plan of going outside the country for the Wizarding World of Harry Potter is murky right now, I will make do on whatever I can get. Good thing, Starbucks Secret Menu concocted an alternative butterbeer. I don’t usually go to Starbucks, but this made me.

Here is the recipe:

-Creme Frappuccino base (whole milk)
-3 pumps of caramel syrup
-3 toffee nut syrup
-Top with caramel drizzle.

*It should be grande.
For tall, there should only have 2 pumps, and 4 pumps for venti.
For latte version, click here or here.

20131111-163710.jpg
Look at my name!

I have poor communication skills, and my friend didn’t like to help me order it! I will just make a fool out of myself or cause long queues or whatever so I copied the recipe in my notes, and requested it to the barista. He told me that many customers customized their drinks that day. I explained that this recipe is the closest thing to butterbeer, Harry Potter’s drink (Well, I wrongly assumed that the customized drinks ordered before me were butterbeer lol whatever). I think Harry Potter is the only thing he understood from what I said. I put Hermione below the recipe and he noticed. He asked whose name was Hermiyown, so it was confirmed, he didn’t know anything besides Harry. I told him to write that name in our cups. Clai was laughing really hard. Yeah, we’re such geeks.

20131111-180321.jpg
Moi et Clai (flowers are for photobombers lol)

Many people asked me if tastes good. I always reply with “It taste like butterscotch and it’s too sweet”. Then some would asked, “so it’s not good?” The reason why I don’t say anything is that I will be biased and automatically say that it tastes so good because I’m a fan. Duh. It all goes down on people’s taste buds. I know some people don’t like sweet stuff. For him, I would not recommend butterbeer.

The butterbeer may be a reference from buttered beer in Tudor times which is made from beer, sugar, eggs, nutmeg, cloves and butter. In Harry Potter, however, the butterbeer has minimal alcohol content that only the house elves get drunk. So I would say that this Starbucks alternative is almost perfect.

β™‘ P

Leave a Reply

