Review: On the Road

On the Road
On the Road by Jack Kerouac
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

On the Road reminded me of the Motorcycle Diaries where Ernesto Guevara with his friend Alberto Granado went for a journey just for fun. They were also the type of people that go with the flow like Sal Paradise and Dean Moriarty. And they’re almost the same with chasing girls and fooling around with other people.

The difference was that Che sought for revolution. I think that was missing in Jack Kerouac’s On the Road. It was a good book but I wanted it to be more inspiring and to have more sense. I mean they were jerking around and they know it but they still do it. I just don’t like the fact that they live an easy life where they don’t commit and man up to take the responsibilities and consequences they afflicted.

On the other hand, this book took me to different places I’ve never been to and I met so many people I won’t ever meet in real life. Also, I wonder what happened to Dean after they went to their separated lives. Well, Sal is Jack Kerouac, he based it on real life. I think they really had a great adventure.

P.S. I read this book while I was traveling every one hour and a half to my first job and sometimes another one hour and a half back (I don’t usually read when I’m tired) till I finished it. Basically, I read this book on the road 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

